Frugalware Linux 1.6 RC1 Live

Hi this is a not very in depth review of Frugalware Linux 1.6 RC1. This is mainly to see its suitability of install on my system and so I don’t mess up my current setup I will be doing this is Virtual Box. Before anyone complains about testing this way remember its not a final release so its not a test on how things might end up being by the time Frugalware release its final version.

First I downloaded the live gnome cd version. Though you do get the choice of LXDE, XFCE and Kde as well.

Anyway first the Distrowatch blurb.

Frugalware Linux is an independently developed general purpose desktop Linux distribution designed for intermediate users. It follows simple Slackware-like design concepts and includes the “pacman” package management utility from Arch Linux.

And a few bits regarding the RC1 release.

Linux kernel 3.1.8
Mozilla Firefox 9.0.1 ***I will add this doesn’t appear to be on the Live CD versions though****
Cinnamon desktop is available as a package

First screen shot


Once booted into the live session Gnome 3 failed to load. This is not unexpected as I had previously mentioned I am using Virtualbox and Gnome 3 wont work until the additions are installed I will wait until the system has been installed before doing this.

Next getting the system installed

This caused me a bit of confusion I double clicked the install link on the desktop but it requires me to be in root? So I opened up terminal, logged root (su root) the password was my live username (fwlive) then typed fwife and the installation was then allowed to proceed. Not a major issue and one I will overlook but this could cause some issues if this happens in the final release.

The next set of images are of the installation itself.

The installation itself took a fair bit of time but this was due to the downloads needed for the final system. I think I made a mistake downloading the CD live .iso, but you live and learn.

I will be back shortly with images and a run through of the installed system. Anyway so far no big failures or bugs that I can see.

Cheers

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Frugalware Linux 1.6 RC1 Live

  1. dt56626 says:

    forgot to include this download Frugalware here http://frugalware.org/download

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

